Skip to main content

MIE Collections & Resources

This guide explains the collection and resource types held by MIE Library, including theses, long-loan items, short-loan items, desk-reserve items, print collections and online resources.

About this guide

Welcome to the Collection & Resource pages of MIE Library. The Library holds just under 35,000 items on its shelves and subscribes to a growing number of electronic resources, including access to over 6,000 eBooks and 2,256 journal titles across 6 academic databases. The Library contains a reference collection, postgraduate, staff and external thesis collection, junior collection, teaching resource collection, short loan and long loan academic text collections.  

This guide and its pages to the left explain all the  types of loan (which determine how long you can take items home for) and different collections that the Library has to offer - from big books and junior collections to eBooks, online academic databases, and MIE print theses.

Types of loan

There are three loan-types which determine how long you can take an item for: desk reserve, short-loan, and long-loan. For more information on loan-types see below, and for information on our different collections and online resources select one of the tabs to the left.

Desk-reserves (DSK)

A small selection of the most in-demand items are placed on 'Desk-reserve' and when you see DSK in the Library Catalogue beside a shelfmark under 'classification' after clicking on a title, you should go to the Issue-Desk with the collection/location-code and ask for the item. It will be issued to your account for use in the Library for two hours. MIE theses are also held on desk-reserve. 

Example Desk-reserve location code:

  

Short-loans (SL)

Short-loan items are in demand - so they can be taken out for a maximum of two days, and you can only take two short-loans at a time. They can't be renewed or reserved online. You'll see blue tape on their spine and they are in a separate collection located beside the Issue-Desk. Please note that fines are €5 per day on overdue short-loans. 

Example Short-loan location code:

 

Long-loans (LL)

Long-loan items can normally be taken for two weeks. Junior Fiction, Junior Non-fiction, Big Books, Resources and most academic text-books are long-loans. These items can be renewed once online if you renew before they're due and they haven't been reserved by another Library user.

Example Long-loan location code:

 

 

Twitter Facebook Email

Marino Institute of Education Library Griffith Avenue, Dublin 9 | t: +353 1 805 7753
© 2016 Marino Institute of Education Library

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.