Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MIE Collections & Resources

This guide explains the collection and resource types held by MIE Library, including theses, long-loan items, short-loan items, desk-reserve items, print collections and online resources.

What is an academic database?

An 'academic' database indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, electronic books, and other materials and gives access to recent, scholarly, and peer-reviewed information. 

How to search our databases

MIE Library gives you online access to over 4000 academic journal titles, as well as other materials, such as eBooks, theses and dissertations. You can do a search in a particular academic database or use MIESearch to search all of our resources (print and online) at once. 

Log in when you're off-campus with your library online resource username eg jswiftbed18@mie.ie and password for full access. 

 

You can search for articles and other information on your topic using keywords or subject terms.  

Consult the help menu within the database you're using for how to create an effective search and select 'full-text' from the limiters within the database to only see content which you will be able to access the full-text of. 

Which academic databases do you have access to?

Using MIESearch to find articles on your topic

What are boolean operators?

Boolean operators form the basis of mathematical sets and database logic. They connect your seach words together to either narrow or broaden your set of results.

Boolean operators are the words "AND", "OR" and "NOT".  When used in library databases, they can make searches more precise - and save you time. In our discovery tool MIESearch (and other databases) you can choose how to combine keywords with dropdown menus, e.g.:

There are lots of other ways to narrow or expand your search results using search modifiers and filters. For a quick overview of how to use them see our cheat-sheet below, or book an individual appointment with a librarian to help you search effectively.

Boolean cheat sheet

Twitter Facebook Email

Marino Institute of Education Library Griffith Avenue, Dublin 9 | t: +353 1 805 7753
© 2016 Marino Institute of Education Library

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.