Skip to Main Content

Orientation

Library Orientation Guide for New Students

AN A-Z of MIE Library 🌟

This series is a bitesize tour of what MIE library does 🦉

Click through the gallery below for library tips and tricks!

A is for Aodán - Aodán is our library mascot who sits at the front desk, and he will be ready to help you with any questions!
B is for Borrowing - To borrow a book, simply head to the self-service kiosk next to the entrance door. Press borrow, scan the barcode on your student card on the red line, then put your books down. The kiosk will automatically register the books onto your account.
C is for Card - Your student card is your library card - and also what you will need to use the printers. You’ll need this to gain entry to the library!
D is for Databases - We provide online access to many great databases through the library search. You can also access them individually by clicking into the A-Z Databases tab on the homepage.
E is for Education - The biggest part of our main collection is books relating to education. You’ll notice that 370-379 is where most of the books are - and you can see the subcategories here: https://www.oclc.org/content/dam/oclc/dewey/resources/summaries/deweysummaries.pdf
F is for Finding a Book - The first place you need to go is to our library search on the MIE library homepage - https://www.mie.ie/en/library Search your book title and click on the search result you want. On the record, Holdings will indicate what section - eg. Main Collection Find the shelfmark on the search record - it will look something like this: 301.072/MCN. Once you have located the collection area in the Library look for the main class number (301), then the subject number (0.72) and finally the surname letters (MCN).
G is for Gaeilge - Tá roinnt acmhainní Gaeilge againn, ó phictiúirleabhair agus ficsean sóisearach go téacsleabhair don múinteoireacht.
H is for Help - Our friendly library staff are here to help you (alongside Aodán) with any questions you might have - and out of hours you can contact us via email at librarydesk@mie.ie
I is for Inter Library Loans - Full-time academic staff, Postgraduate students, and 4th year students undertaking a dissertation are entitled to 2 Inter Library Loans a year. The form is available on the library website.
J is for Journals - We provide access to a wide and growing range of eJournals available via the library search or through our databases.
K is for Keylinks - Keylinks is our Reading List software which is accessible through the course pages on your Moodle. It also hosts lists of particular resources in the library such as wordless picture books or braille books.
L is for Loans - Standard loans 2 weeks - 1 Renewal - 20c per day overdue fine Short-Loans 7 day loan - No Renewal - €5 per day overdue fine Desk-reserve Ask at Issue-Desk with the collection/location-code and ask for the item. For use in the Library only. MIE theses are also held on desk-reserve.
M is for Moodle - our moodle username and password are what you will need to register for printing and to log into your library account. Please note that the library login uses your username without the email extension (@momail.mie.ie)
N is for Newsletter - The library newsletter is sent to all students and staff in Spring, Summer and Autumn. You can read through the archive in our library guides!
O is for Online Resources - Items in the online resources collection include electronic books, e-journals, articles, databases, book reviews, magazines, theses, dissertations, dictionaries, encyclopedias and videos. These are all accessible through the MIE search option on the library home page (https://www.mie.ie/en/library).
P is for Printing - Our printing area is on the ground floor. You will need your student card to print. There are handy directions on the wall to help you!
Q is for Questions - Whatever the issue, our library staff are here to help. We also have a chat service (operated by Aodán) on the library home page for general queries such as opening hours.
R is for Returning, Renewing & Reserving - You can return books at the self-issue kiosk or at the library desk. Renewing and reserving can be done through logging in to your library account on the kiosk or on our homepage.
S is for Store - We keep all our theses, dissertations and print journals amongst other items in the store. To access these you can request online or at the library desk.
T is for The Library of Things - The library of things has a number of equipment items available for borrowing, including: Laptop and phone charger, Voice recorder, Cricut, Bee-Bot, Puppet sets & more!
U is for User Experience - We are always interested in how people experience the library so we can always be improving. We have a suggestion box in the lobby for anonymous notes.
V is for Vending Machine - There is a vending machine in the lobby if you ever need a snack or a drink.
W is for Wellbeing - Our new wellbeing section is a space for you to relax on a comfy chair or bean bag, with adjustable lighting. Have a look through our wellbeing books, play with some sensory toys or just chill and get a break from studying. Please be aware that this space is a relaxed but quiet area. Be respectful of the shared space and those who may wish to use it for some quiet time.
X is for X.com & Instagram
Y is for Your Space - You can always find your own space in the library - whether its the wellbeing section, the lobby, the curriculum room for group projects or the reading room for silent study.
Z is for Zotero - Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research. It is a type of reference management software, which you can use to assist you in referencing correctly in your essays. You can download Zotero to your own device for free - see our library guides for more info.