Newsletter

Expanded Online Resources Now Available: Access 1,500+ Journals and More

As part of our ongoing collection development project, we are excited to announce the expansion of our online resources. This includes access to the Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Collection, which features over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals. These journals cover a wide range of subjects, including education, sociology, politics, history, linguistics, arts, and cultural studies—offering a wealth of resources for research and study.

Some of the key journals now available include British Journal of Sociology, History and Anthropology, Educational Philosophy and Theory, and Journal of Modern Literature. This extensive collection is accessible through the library's discovery page and search box, MIESearch, making it easier than ever to explore and access these valuable materials.

In addition to this, we are pleased to share that we are launching a Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) programme for eBooks later this semester. This programme will provide access to over 8,000 new eBooks as well as digital versions of many of our existing print books, further expanding our digital collection. Like the SSH journals, these eBooks will also be fully searchable and accessible through MIESearch, ensuring seamless discovery of both new and familiar titles.

We hope these enhancements will greatly enrich your research and academic work.

 

New eBooks available now!

We are thrilled to announce the introduction of a new Demand-Driven Acquisition (DDA) programme, adding over 8,000 new eBooks to the MIE library collections. This expansion offers staff and students an even greater choice of academic resources, supporting research and learning across a wide range of subjects.

A key feature of this new collection is the inclusion of updated editions of textbooks already available on our shelves, ensuring you have access to the latest research and content. The enhanced selection will provide valuable support for both teaching and learning.

Some standout titles now available include:

Successful Writing for Qualitative Researchers

Understanding Transitions in the Early Years: Supporting Change Through Attachment and Resilience

Reaching and Teaching Students in Poverty: Strategies for Erasing the Opportunity Gap

The collection spans various subject areas, including Educational Theory, Child Development, and Inclusive Education.

This expanded range of eBooks is available now, and we encourage you to explore these resources through the library catalogue. Should you need any assistance, our library team is here to help.

Happy reading!

Irish Newspaper Archives

We are excited to announce trial access to the ⁠Irish Newspaper Archives, offering a valuable resource for historical research, teaching methodology, and social studies. Using the Archives, students and teachers can explore primary sources on key historical events, track social change, and develop source-based learning materials. The Archives also provide rich content for political science research, allowing users to analyse public discourse and the media’s role in shaping Irish identity and political movements. Please note that this trial access is available on-campus only. We encourage you to explore the Archives and please let us know if you find it useful for your studies or teaching!